Nostalgia

There is something primal for me about returning to Cape Town … I know this place – its smell, its light, its astonishing mountain, the magical beaches, the ever-present South-easter – all etched in my cellular memory. Yet I am also different, older, maybe even a little wiser … Certainly more comfortable in my body and my heart… And the friends too are remembered from a lifetime ago – comforting and fortifying … And yet also discovered quite differently – some with different partners, some on the edge of major professional changes, some with children that are entering adolescence and some with adolescents knocking at adulthood… And there is another reflection for me … Trying to listen to any messages regarding my new direction … It is very quiet or my hearing is poor …

Leave a Reply

