Something reassuring

Probably the thing I missed most when I left South Africa was the pungent smell of the Atlantic… the Pacific always feels gentler and never gives up an ocean smell and I long for that even 20 years later – there is nothing more evocative for me than the smell of the seaweed and the icy waters – it is so beautifully affirming of my childhood memories… At night I can hear the foghorn when the mist rolls in from the cold current… and well before the day loses its heat and sun you smell the Atlantic and know that in the morning you will wake to a grey and misty day…

Leave a Reply

