Tramping in mud

With our impending hike on the sub-antarctic Stewart Island I have this magical hope that somehow across the roaring 40s the weather will be delightful and the accommodation 5 star… the truth is my tooth is in desperate need of root canal (I kid you not), the weather forecast is for rain and well I know the colony of sandflies that awaits us at the joyless huts… but somewhere between the mud, the rain, and my tooth I am wondering if once again I can find the joy and meditation of just being in nature placing one foot in front of the other… or whether I will win the category of least useful tramper and most bitchy ūüôā

Leave a Reply

