Tramping in hope of a kiwi

I was desperate to see a Kiwi on our trip – here we were going to an island south of the south island of NZ renowned for its amazing birdlife living like Douglas Mawson… bracing myself through two flights, a fierce journey on a catamaran across Foveaux Strait… I kinda deserved to see this bird…I prayed to the Angel of Kiwis, I called up the spirits of birds, I wandered about in the dark trying to conjure the elusive creature… all to no avail… except for the younger members of our party who had woken late on the last day, flung themselves loudly onto the track and there in front of them was a kiwi… I was awarded at our celebratory dinner that night the tramper least likely to see a kiwi…

Leave a Reply

